IH PARTS AMERICA
Click Here!

Go Back   IH PARTS AMERICA > Tech Forums > Electrical Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Photo Gallery IH Store Home

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2019, 03:58 PM   #1
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Need to know whether the amp gauge is connected to the starting circuit in a 72 international 1310. I started messing with the fuel gauge and the amp gauge is broken to shit now. Now it wont start at all. Wont even turn the headlights on.
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 04:10 PM   #2
1975IH200
Senior Member
 
1975IH200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Member Number: 731
Location: 3rd to last cave on the right
Posts: 599
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Yes, that is the power source for electrical power for the cab, etc.
The control circuit for the starter is fed by that source.

Wether the Ammeter is good or bad, you can fabricate a 6" long piece of #10 gauge wire and use it as a shunt for the ammeter.
Especially if you have installed a higher amp alternator in the truck.
__________________

My Junk --> 1975 "200HD" AWD Truck
My Cave location --> Western North Carolina
1975IH200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 04:14 PM   #3
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

So youre saying I can splice a wire in place of it to make everything work. What wires would I be splicing to make it work? The ammeter is completely destroyed I either need a new one or to bypass it. Also thank you so much for the reply. Also could I just add a different ammeter and would it work???
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 04:28 PM   #4
1975IH200
Senior Member
 
1975IH200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Member Number: 731
Location: 3rd to last cave on the right
Posts: 599
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

For your situation, you could:

1. ...connect the two ammeter wire eyelet terminals together with a small bolt & nut, then tape them with electrical tape to fully insulate the terminals from shorting out on the innards of the instrument panel area.

or

2. ...replace the ammeter with a replacement IH ammeter.

or

3 ...replace the ammeter with an aftermarket ammeter.

optional

...The shunt is recommended for when higher amperage alternators are installed. Won't hurt to add one to the standard amperage alternator/ammeter combo.
__________________

My Junk --> 1975 "200HD" AWD Truck
My Cave location --> Western North Carolina

Last edited by 1975IH200; 06-30-2019 at 04:34 PM..
1975IH200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 04:30 PM   #5
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

I had 3 connections on my ammeter. One white one black and one big blue wire.
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 04:35 PM   #6
1975IH200
Senior Member
 
1975IH200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Member Number: 731
Location: 3rd to last cave on the right
Posts: 599
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Quote:
Originally Posted by firebolt35 View Post
I had 3 connections on my ammeter. One white one black and one big blue wire.
1. ...connect the three (3) ammeter wire eyelet terminals together with a small bolt & nut, then tape them with electrical tape to fully insulate the terminals from shorting out on the innards of the instrument panel area.
__________________

My Junk --> 1975 "200HD" AWD Truck
My Cave location --> Western North Carolina
1975IH200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 04:44 PM   #7
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

So I did that and nothing happened at all. I will admit before you suggested that I had a similar idea and connected all three but added a ground wire. When I connected power to the battery it popped my added ground wire. However with just the 3 connected right now I dont get anything.
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 06:14 PM   #8
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

So i guess you have to connect every single wire that was connected to the fuel AND amp gauge all of the like 8 wires ( I didnt actually count how many) and now it runs again...
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 06:17 PM   #9
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 4,233
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

I don't get why you would have added a ground wire to that mix when there was no ground wire to begin with. There's nothing but hot wires there. They need to be insulated from contact with ground as Scott said. You probably blew the fusible link, aka slow blow fuse on the engine side of the firewall right near the bulkhead connector on one of the two 10GA blue wires.
__________________
Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram SLT 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500/8800# GVW/12K# winch
Hooty - '74 SII 4x4 - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Powr-lok RA/33g Fuel
Lemuel - '73 1210 Reg Cab 4x4 CS - 304/TF727/NP205/4.09 FA25 & 4.10 RA16/6800# GVW - "Pull Lemuel, pull!"
Organ Donor - '72 1210 Reg Cab 2WD - seized 392/TF727/7500# GVW - "Use my body to keep you alive!"
Mongo - '71 1210 Reg Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/4.10 RA17/6100# GVW - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 06:21 PM   #10
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Nah it runs. I originally wasnt going to add another ground wire but I was talking to my dad and he suggested it. At any rate. Like I said. Once i connected ALL of the connectors together it fired back up. Also you have 3 1210'S?
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 06:30 PM   #11
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 4,233
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Ok good. The fuel gauge isn't even associated with the ammeter. They just happen to be in the same cluster housing, but they don't have any wires in common. Totally independent of each other. But yes, all of the wires that were on each of the ammeter terminals do have to be combined if you're going to bypass the ammeter. The gauge was serving as a junction for all of those wires. Not the smartest way to do things, but that's how they did it.
Yes, I do have 3.
__________________
Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram SLT 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500/8800# GVW/12K# winch
Hooty - '74 SII 4x4 - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Powr-lok RA/33g Fuel
Lemuel - '73 1210 Reg Cab 4x4 CS - 304/TF727/NP205/4.09 FA25 & 4.10 RA16/6800# GVW - "Pull Lemuel, pull!"
Organ Donor - '72 1210 Reg Cab 2WD - seized 392/TF727/7500# GVW - "Use my body to keep you alive!"
Mongo - '71 1210 Reg Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/4.10 RA17/6100# GVW - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 06:42 PM   #12
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Its interesting you say the fuel gauge is separate because I had to connect the wires from the fuel gauge as well as the ammeter to get it to fire up. If I just connected the ammeter wires it wouldnt work.
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 06:50 PM   #13
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 4,233
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

There are no loose wires for the fuel gauge. Believe me my young friend, I've got three of these, plus a Scout II, which has the same gauges and much of the same wiring. I've been fiddling around on those gauges for damn near 20 years. I know what I'm talking about here, and Scott will back me up on this. The ammeter gauge has two terminals. A Positive and a Negative. But negative in this case IS NOT a chassis ground. It's just negative polarity. So, when you bypass the ammeter gauge, the group of wires from the POS terminal must be combined with the group of wires from the NEG terminal. And there are a handful of them, eight wires sounds about right. But NONE of them are for the fuel gauge.
__________________
Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram SLT 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500/8800# GVW/12K# winch
Hooty - '74 SII 4x4 - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Powr-lok RA/33g Fuel
Lemuel - '73 1210 Reg Cab 4x4 CS - 304/TF727/NP205/4.09 FA25 & 4.10 RA16/6800# GVW - "Pull Lemuel, pull!"
Organ Donor - '72 1210 Reg Cab 2WD - seized 392/TF727/7500# GVW - "Use my body to keep you alive!"
Mongo - '71 1210 Reg Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/4.10 RA17/6100# GVW - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 11:38 PM   #14
1975IH200
Senior Member
 
1975IH200's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Member Number: 731
Location: 3rd to last cave on the right
Posts: 599
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Firebolt35 - you clearly cannot read and follow directions.
I'm just glad you didn't set fire to the house or garage.

Clearly I wasted my time today.
I will not repeat that error.

Good Luck with your truck.
__________________

My Junk --> 1975 "200HD" AWD Truck
My Cave location --> Western North Carolina
1975IH200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2019, 11:44 PM   #15
firebolt35
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member Number: 9700
Posts: 10
Default Re: FUEL AND AMP GAUGE

Nah you just didnt have the same set up as my truck and were trying to give me directions as if you did. I hooked up the three wires you said to and it didnt do shit. You were just wrong. No need to be an asshole about it...I figured it out anyway though.
firebolt35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:16 PM.