IH PARTS AMERICA
Click Here!

Go Back   IH PARTS AMERICA > Tech Forums > Carb Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Photo Gallery IH Store Home

Old 11-07-2017, 01:22 PM   #1
PUCK

Member Number: 8923
Default 1977 traveller dies when I stop or when I put into gear

Hey I H friends

Recently picked up a 77 traveller it's got a 345 v8. It starts OK and drives fine but it's got this issue where it dies at stop lights and occasionally when I first warm it up and I throw it into reverse out the drive way it dies on me

It's a new motor build with about 33k on the odo, it's got an idle thing that sets it to Rev high when it's started to warm it up.

Sorry I'm not a pro mechanic but pretty handy backyard scientist so please forgive the lack of knowledge on the terms, I love this truck and just want it to run right.

I searched up threads on here and binder planet about this issue but it seems like most folks just wind up finding random issues with their fuel system.

This truck has got all new stuff as of 33k miles ago, so I was thinking it's just the idle speed? And the change of climate that's messing with the carb it was a California truck now lives in New Jersey

Also while Im on the subject can anyone reccomend a good mechanic for the scout in NJ? I'm having a hell of a time finding help.

Thanks guys!
PUCK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2017, 06:24 PM   #2
Scoutboy74

Member Number: 453
Default Re: 1977 traveller dies when I stop or when I put into gear

It would help us to properly identify the carb. One of the best ways to do that is to get the rock strainer assy off and out of the way to reveal the carb. Then take some quality pics from both sides, plus focused in tight on the front of the airhorn where the list number is stamped in. Then post them to this thread.