IH PARTS AMERICA
Click Here!

Go Back   IH PARTS AMERICA > Tech Forums > Oil Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Photo Gallery IH Store Home

Old 01-30-2017, 12:04 AM   #1
overdrivesteve

Member Number: 5094
Default Different fuels?

Hi,

not really sure where to ask this, or if it can be asked in this forum at all. But perhaps someone here can tell me.

What is the practical difference between diesel #1, diesel #2, red or clear diesel, kerosene, home heating oil, winter and summer blends and what is interchangeable for use in home heaters and diesel trucks and other ag equipment? I've heard some people say they can run diesel in their home heaters instead of the much more expensive kerosene with no problem (despite what the fuel sellers say) and I've heard other people say it can't be done with diesel at all because it smells so bad.

Being from southern calif I have no practical experience with any fuel other than gasoline and natural gas, but the extremely high cost of heating fuel in northern calif is killing me. What is interchangeable?

Thank you for your comments.
overdrivesteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2017, 11:32 AM   #2
FDChappie

Member Number: 3742
Default Re: Different fuels?

I've run lots of different 'fuels' and oils through my listeroid diesel generator and many of them run just fine.

Basically diesel #2 is your standard on road diesel with #1 being winter diesel which is similar to k1 but with some added lube for injector pumps. Red vs. Clear the only difference is the .42 cents road tax is not charged on the red and perhaps a bit more sulfur to lube the ip. The old diesels did smell bad, but the new ulsd (ultra low sulfur diesel) is not bad for smells.