IH PARTS AMERICA
Click Here!

Go Back   IH PARTS AMERICA > Tech Forums > Gas Engine Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Photo Gallery IH Store Home

Old 07-31-2016, 08:13 AM   #1
Kneadabagel

Member Number: 8299
Default C120 won't start

Straight six turns over. Gas pedal was stuck so we removed carberator and freed up all rusty parts. Put back together and still won't start. Looks like a new distributed was put in. Checked the ignition coil and not getting the same charge as the battery. I am a novice as you can pretty much tell. Any suggetions??? Thanks
micah
Kneadabagel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 09:41 AM   #2
Scoutboy74

Member Number: 453
Default Re: C120 won't start

Welcome to the forum. Since this is a tech question not pertaining to the show section you posted it to, I moved it to a more appropriate place. No harm done. For best results with future posts, just make an attempt to post them to the most appropriate subject heading.

Now, let's have some more back story if you can provide it. How long has this truck been in your care? Do you know approximately how long its been since this engine last ran?

Three things are required in proper amount and at the right time for internal combustion to occur. They are air, fuel and spark. I gather that the starter motor is capable of rotating the engine over (cranking) when you hit the switch. As long as you're able to breathe, we can assume that the air leg of the combustion pyramid is covered.