IH PARTS AMERICA
Click Here!

Go Back   IH PARTS AMERICA > Tech Forums > Electrical Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Photo Gallery IH Store Home

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-11-2017, 09:04 AM   #1
Richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member Number: 969
Location: So Cal
Posts: 167
Default Fuse Block upgrade?

79 Traveler, 345, 4bbl, 727TF, D44 front and back, 3.54 gears with TruTracs.

I have the fuse block (restore project) out and am looking to maybe upgrade from the tube type fuse to bayonet type. As you can see from the pix, it's pretty standard. But is there "any" type adapter from glass to bayonet using the original fuse block? In this day and age, somebody out there has had to have done this? Or do I have to leave as is, or literally go the aftermarket way with a new fuse block? I kinda wanted to leave the original wiring alone as the truck has been sitting for 30 yrs. in the garage. Any suggestions?

Yea, I know, kinda picky!. Thanks.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg fuse block traveler.jpg (81.5 KB, 22 views)
File Type: jpg back of fuseblock traveler.jpg (81.7 KB, 17 views)
Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2017, 06:01 PM   #2
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

There's no practical or reliable way to adapt the glass fuse dock to accept blade fuses that I've ever heard of. I can understand your reasoning for wanting to do so, but I can't imagine it being a popular or common enough option to drive the R & D of such an apparatus. Just not enough demand for it. So that leaves you with standing pat or cutting out the old block to splice in the new one. Yours looks to be in pretty decent shape.
__________________
Favorite hobby...Driving Salma Hayek in my Scout

Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500
Hooty - '74 SII - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Krac-lok RA/RC 4" SUA/34x10.5 TSLs/33g Fuel/HFT 8k winch
Mongo - '71 1210 Std Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/RA17 D60 4.10 Trac-lok - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:00 AM   #3
Richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member Number: 969
Location: So Cal
Posts: 167
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

Ok,

you mention "splicing" in a new one. I am having a hard time finding just the block itself, or one that is as close to the original configuration as possible. I can do the cut a splice, I would think that there is a block out there somewhere that is close to the original? Let me know, and thanks for the quick reply.
Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:05 AM   #4
Richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member Number: 969
Location: So Cal
Posts: 167
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

an afterthought:

I see that the block is bolted to the firewall through plastic, which means the block itself is not grounded? I think not. I will continue with my overall upgrade/clean/inspect in the meantime. I guess one of the issues I am also having is that I am 6'7" tall, and it is HELL getting up into that space (where the fuse block is) with my long arms. Any thoughts?
Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 09:33 AM   #5
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

Geez! Lurch huh? No, fuse blocks aren't grounded. Individual circuits or collections of circuits are grounded at appropriate locations throughout the vehicle. You can google search just like I've done for aftermarket or replacement ATC/ATO fuse blocks to see what's available. In every case, it would entail snipping every wire attached to your current block so the block could be removed, and then soldering or crimping appropriate terminations to the loose wires for attachment to the fused terminals of the replacement block. Wire length obviously determines fuse block location. If a new location is desired, wire extensions would need to be spliced to the existing wires. I don't recommend this. Its too easy to make a royal spaghetti mess of things, unless you're a professional automotive electrician. My own personal rule of thumb, whether we're talking about plumbing or electricity...the fewer splices/junctions in any given run, the better. Sometimes they're necessary. Really, if you're dead set not only on relocating the fuse block, but also having the modern fuses, the best way to accomplish both would be to gut your entire wiring harness and block in favor of a universal harness kit such as the Kwikwire in 8, 14, or 21 circuit versions, all available for purchase here through the IHPA webstore...link in the upper right portion of the screen. Its a big job, with some expense involved. That's an option that makes the most sense for those vehicles where the existing wiring is either a hacked up mess too far gone to salvage, or when the owner is wanting to add accessories that simply can't be protected by the existing fuse block because the provisions aren't there.
__________________
Favorite hobby...Driving Salma Hayek in my Scout

Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500
Hooty - '74 SII - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Krac-lok RA/RC 4" SUA/34x10.5 TSLs/33g Fuel/HFT 8k winch
Mongo - '71 1210 Std Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/RA17 D60 4.10 Trac-lok - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:35 AM   #6
Richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member Number: 969
Location: So Cal
Posts: 167
Thumbs up Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

yea, I know, kinda what I figured. I have the shop manuals for this 79 Traveler, so I will read, and read some more. This fuse block looks to be a 10 circuit block (based on the fuse labeling? Oh well, on with the project. Thanks for the information.
Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 10:48 AM   #7
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

You bet. And in case it makes any difference to you, the '79 block and firewall bulkhead connectors you have in your Scout are a much improved design over earlier model years. The earlier ones are complete crapball garbage by comparison and really should be "optimized" just as a general rule of thumb. In your case, sticking with what you have if its all still in good shape isn't a horrible choice.
__________________
Favorite hobby...Driving Salma Hayek in my Scout

Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500
Hooty - '74 SII - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Krac-lok RA/RC 4" SUA/34x10.5 TSLs/33g Fuel/HFT 8k winch
Mongo - '71 1210 Std Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/RA17 D60 4.10 Trac-lok - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 06:04 PM   #8
meisterj
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Member Number: 8515
Posts: 29
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

Scoutboy,
I'm working on a '74 Scout II with those 'crapball garbage' bulkhead connectors. I haven't had problems with them yet, but I'm sure it's inevitable. Do you have specific recommendations to 'optimize' them? Perhaps a specific replacement connector? Other suggestions? Thanks
meisterj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2017, 07:18 PM   #9
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

If they start giving you enough problems, the best thing to do is bypass them with continuous wire runs through a grommet. Those connectors were primarily an assembly line convenience. When you get the connectors out of the way, you're left with rectangular holes in the firewall. That's a difficult shape to come up with a grommet that will fit. But, if you change the rectangle to a circle, the job becomes much easier. That can be as simple as rectangle sheet metal pieces to cover the rectangle holes, allowing you to then drill appropriate sized round holes into the cover plate, which can then be fitted with grommets for the wires to pass through.
__________________
Favorite hobby...Driving Salma Hayek in my Scout

Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500
Hooty - '74 SII - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Krac-lok RA/RC 4" SUA/34x10.5 TSLs/33g Fuel/HFT 8k winch
Mongo - '71 1210 Std Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/RA17 D60 4.10 Trac-lok - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 11:24 AM   #10
Richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member Number: 969
Location: So Cal
Posts: 167
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

Well, OK! I'm going to go "rogue" on this. Not that I wouldn't mind doing a complete rewire, but am on a budget for right now. I have identified all the lines (hell, they are numbered on the wire), it seems it should be a simple 12 circuit block that I need to locate. I see (based on the pictures) that there are two sides, each with a 4-5 side block connected. I will hunt around for the upgrade fuse block (would welcome any suggestions - re: fuse block).

re; the early Scout mentioned - I did the same thing (upgrade to ATO fuse block) last year. Really fairly simple - just takes time and patience. the fuse block cost me $11 at an electronic store. Worth the time and effort, simple to replace the bayonet fuses.

thanks all for the responses. Will post pix of the completed work, when done.
Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2017, 11:42 AM   #11
Hondo
Senior Member
 
Hondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Member Number: 4714
Location: Fremont
Posts: 412
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

Might want to peruse this site, but beware I'm like a kid in a candy store with some of their DC stuff. I ended up with the setup below. The block in the picture is from a competitors site, and I don't recommend it, kind of flimsy.You need a switched section, and a battery direct section. Old block is still there because it holds one of the blinker relays. https://powerwerx.com/fuses-circuit-protection
Attached Images
 
__________________
1975 Scout II healthy 258, Wide T19 , 4:1 D300 3:54s,
1972 Real clean stock Scout II P/S, P/B, 345, T18, 3:73s
1969 Mach I. Balanced ported 351W, 650 double pumper, Super T10, Detroit locker with 4.11s. Lowered with racing springs, bars, Konis etc.
(Don't worry about getting arrested when I drive the Scouts).
Hondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2017, 12:40 PM   #12
Richard
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Member Number: 969
Location: So Cal
Posts: 167
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

Hondo:

you mention a "switched section" and a "battery direct" connection. why? Looking at the existing fuse block, all I see are the leads coming from the various components only. Or am I missing something? thanks.

Richard - "a.k.a. - Gorilla Snot"
Richard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 07:16 AM   #13
Hondo
Senior Member
 
Hondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Member Number: 4714
Location: Fremont
Posts: 412
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

Hello Richard, I have 72 and 75 Scouts, so the fuse blocks are different. Looking at your pictures though, looks like you have different power sources coming in from the top half and the bottom half of the fuse panel. Hazard, stop, tail, courtesy lights, and cigar lighter work with the ignition on or off (bottom section in your picture). Backup, turn, heater, CB etc. don't have power until you switch the ignition on. Picture is the back of a 75 fuse block and you can see the two sections,with power feeds at the top. The two different sections are not clearly shown on the IH wiring diagram. Notice all the rivets have solder on them. Had a wiring problem that drove me nuts until I pulled the fuse block. Had power coming in, on both sides of fuse, but not on the load side spade connection of the fuse on the back of the panel. Could also check out Kwik wire http://kwikwire.com/2003-fuse-panel/
Attached Images
 
__________________
1975 Scout II healthy 258, Wide T19 , 4:1 D300 3:54s,
1972 Real clean stock Scout II P/S, P/B, 345, T18, 3:73s
1969 Mach I. Balanced ported 351W, 650 double pumper, Super T10, Detroit locker with 4.11s. Lowered with racing springs, bars, Konis etc.
(Don't worry about getting arrested when I drive the Scouts).

Last edited by Hondo; 11-15-2017 at 08:53 AM..
Hondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 07:58 AM   #14
dkminors
Senior Member
 
dkminors's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member Number: 1337
Location: Milpitas, CA
Posts: 342
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

These are a one by one solution, but maybe would work.

http://www.jegs.com/i/RestoParts/759/CH30265/10002/-1

If you are some sort of 3D printing guru you could probably create a jig to hold them all in the right place.
__________________
1975 Scout II 304 4-speed
dkminors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2017, 09:45 AM   #15
Scoutboy74
Moderator
 
Scoutboy74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member Number: 453
Location: Daze Crick, Jefferson
Posts: 3,779
Default Re: Fuse Block upgrade?

So they do exist. At nearly $5 each plus shipping, that gets spendy for a kinda gimmicky fix.
__________________
Favorite hobby...Driving Salma Hayek in my Scout

Coal Trickle - '99 Dodge Ram 2500 Q-Cab SWB 4x4 - 5.9L 24V CTD/NV4500
Hooty - '74 SII - 392/TF727/D20/3.73 D44's/Spartan FA/Krac-lok RA/RC 4" SUA/34x10.5 TSLs/33g Fuel/HFT 8k winch
Mongo - '71 1210 Std Cab 2WD - 345/TF727/RA17 D60 4.10 Trac-lok - "Mongo love candy! Duh, huh, huh!"
Scoutboy74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:02 AM.