IH PARTS AMERICA
Click Here!

Go Back   IH PARTS AMERICA > Tech Forums > Carb Tech
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read Photo Gallery IH Store Home

Old 06-30-2017, 12:41 PM   #1
428street

Member Number: 7660
Default Need help with vacuum advance with 304 and 2300 Holley

Hello everyone. This is a long one.

Bare with me, I know enough to be dangerous and kind of all over the place and trying to reel myself in but I am on information overload from reading many threads and having basic skills when it comes to this stuff.

I have a 1970 Scout 800a with a 304 V8, 4 speed (PO upgraded from 3 speed), Holley 2300 carb and Holley distributor. I bought this truck last year and have been widdling away at going through the mechanics and learning as I go. I love mechanics but am not a mechanic by trade. I would say I'm pretty decent for having no background but I struggle with certain things.

When I got the truck it did not start, no brakes, no battery, etc. It now runs, starts and stops. All done by me with a slight bit of help from another Scout guy, the manual and various forums.

My goal was to get everything running and get it registered then I was going to circle back and fine tune which is what I am doing now. That goal has been accomplished. I've tried to do everything correctly to the best of my knowledge but I've discovered my first mistake.

I like everything as original as possible and when I got the truck it had a motorcraft carb. I also had a starter problem so I didn't even mess with the motorcaft as I knew I was going to replace it anyway. I bought a Holley 2300 core from where I don't remember. My guess is eBay. I sent it off to a local carb shop (Hobbs in NH) as I live on the East Coast. Got it back, installed it with some help and everything seemed to be fine. We set the points (new non electronic), wires, cap, rotor, wires and it idles around 700-800 rpm. Here's where it goes bad.